Z’s Oyster Bar and Steakhouse: A Lovely Lunch

zs 2I had the opportunity to lunch downtown, like the city workers do every day.  I really enjoyed getting out of the building, taking a nice walk (not too far so that my feet started to hurt in my high heels), and inhaling some fresh air and sunshine in the middle of the work day.  We were in meetings at the Galt House so we had many choices, but settled on Z’s.

The interior is impressive.  High-impact, modern, sleek, sophisticated.  I felt like my babe factor went up a point just by walking into the place.  Service was top shelf from the moment we entered.

I really, really wanted to order the ceviche.  But it was $12 and since I’m not eating carby foods, and therefore the tortillas would go untouched, I figured it would not be enough by itself to satisfy my appetite.  (I, unfortunately for my waistline, have a big appetite.)  I couldn’t justify spending money on the ceviche AND a salad, so I chose the Caesar salad and added grilled shrimp for some protein.  Well, wouldn’t you know it?  My friend Eddie ordered the ceviche and I was sure to have some major food envy when it arrived at our table.  I didn’t even say I was thinking about it.  But great minds think alike, at least that’s what they say.

That reminds me of something really silly.  I have a beautiful and creative friend, Liza, who came up with a clever Halloween costume a few years back.  She wore a simple black t-shirt with “THEY” printed across the front.  Get it?

Back to lunch.  A couple other friends ordered clam chowder and potato bisque along with a salad.  The soups looked and smelled divine and received rave reviews from the ladies.  Eddie’s ceviche came out and I started drooling into my cloth napkin.  That’s right….no el cheap-o paper napkins for this establishment.  The dishes were attractive, water glasses felt good in your hand, and we settled into the comfortable, luxurious chairs.

zs 1Presentation of the salads left nothing to be desired.  My Caesar looked and tasted great.  The six large shrimp were arranged around the lip of the large salad plate, well-seasoned and cooked perfectly.  Being the good accountant, I expertly allocated shrimp throughout the consumption of my salad, ending the meal with a perfect bite of salad and half a yummy shrimp.  The only thing missing was a glass of a crisp, white wine but they frown on that at my work.  Don’t the European’s drink at lunch?  Why can’t we be more like them?

I can describe this lunch in one word: lovely.  It was a respite amid a busy workday.  They have it all: atmosphere, service, food quality, and presentation.  Was it cheap?  No.  But it wasn’t significantly more than anyplace else downtown and typically, you get what you pay for.  If you want cheap, go to Subway.  Was it a good value?  In this reviewer’s opinion, yes.  I give Z’s four out of five.

Z’s Oyster Bar & Steakhouse
115 S. 4th St.
Louisville, KY 40202
502.855.8000

Z's Oyster Bar & Steakhouse (Downtown) on Urbanspoon

 

 

This entry was posted in review and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

