The “Like” Button is Simply Inadequate – Guaca Mole

guaca4I do not tire of Mexican food.  It is simply delicious.  I enjoy the standards (the El Nopals of the world) but I also enjoy a more upscale, sophisticated take on the traditional flavors.  Chef Fernando Martinez is one of my culinary heroes in Louisville and he doesn’t disappoint at all with the offerings at Guaca Mole.

I could do an entire post (and maybe I will) about the fabulous food this man creates.  I’ve already gone on and on about how much I like Mussel and Burger Bar, but I’ll try to stay on topic for this post.

This was my second visit to Guaca Mole.   Last time I had the shrimp ceviche, which was delicious, along with the carnita sopes, which…you guessed it! Were DELICIOUS!  I see this menu as one of those where you simply can’t make a bad choice so I wanted to try some other items even though I knew I’d be happy ordering the same things I ate the last time.  This place is so good, it made my short list for my “Best Thing I Ever Ate” post.

guaca3With a name like Guaca Mole, you would expect their guacamole to be pretty darned good, and it was.  We ordered the traditional version but they also offer two other, more adventurous varieties.  With a slightly chunky texture and the bright flavors of cilantro and lime we quickly made our way through the appetizer course.

guaca2For the entrée I chose the spicy chicken enchiladas.  I love the tartness of the salsa verde and the pickled red onions are fabulous.  (Note to self:  learn how to make those!  They would be perfect with our homemade carnitas.)  The chicken was tender and flavorful.  The dish was generously sauced and beautifully presented.  I was unable to finish the dish due to the more-than-adequate portion size.

The interior of the space is furnished with modern appointments, continuing the sophisticated mood set by the menu choices.  Service has been right on point during each of my visits with friendly, knowledgeable staff.  I feel the experience is well worth the already reasonable prices.

I highly recommend Guaca Mole and award it a top rating of 5 out of 5.  It’s one of my very favorite places in the city.

Guaca Mole
9921 Ormsby Station Road
Louisville, KY 40223
502-365-4822

Guaca Mole on Urbanspoon

This entry was posted in review and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

