DakShin – a Buffet of Flavor

Traveling for work can have its drawbacks.  But sometimes, when you get lucky, you are asked to travel near good food.  This was the case earlier this week when an afternoon meeting brought me close to a place that’s been on my to-do list: DakShin.  Since my husband vetoes Indian every time I suggest it, I jumped at the chance to try it out with a colleague.

It’s hard to top Indian cuisine for the combination of flavor and heat.  DakShin does a great job of bringing the heat, even in the offerings of a lunch buffet where the more faint of heart joints back off the chilis for the amateur patrons.  I love a frequently-turned buffet for the opportunity to taste many different dishes.  Indian + buffet = happy Susan.

The buffet boasted many choices whether you are of the vegetarian or carnivorous persuasion.  That’s another great thing about Indian cuisine: vegetarian friendly.  Not that I would ever go vegetarian, cause I never would.  Not that there’s anything wrong with being a vegetarian if that’s what you really want to do.  Anyhoo…I tasted many different things, most of which I have no idea what it is called.

The lamb curry consisted of tender chunks of lamb in a dark sauce made with tomato, onion, garlic and freshly ground spices.  Their chicken tikka masala was one of the best versions I’ve ever tasted.  The tender chicken, cooked in a tandoor oven, was swimming in a vibrant orange cream sauce turned tangy with the addition of yogurt.  If you are new to this type of food, I recommend the tikka masala as the “starter dish”.  I tried a couple different veggie dishes comprised of various combinations of vegetables and spices.  The heat was kicked up a notch in these offerings.  The best thing on my plate was the spinach,  adding great heat and flavor to the plate.  New to me was the concept of fried rice at an Indian restaurant.  Sure, I’ve had biriyanis but this was different and actually labeled “fried rice with vegetables”.  Even though I’m committed to a low-carb diet until the date of my class reunion, I had to have a forkful (or two) of this rice.  I loved it.  They have a nice selection of salads and accompaniments as well.

I know what you’re thinking:  low-carb?  So you didn’t eat basmati or naan???  No pakoras or samosas?   Nope – I didn’t have any of those things.  But I went back to the buffet for another round of protein!

Don’t be scared by the surroundings or the exterior because the food is a sure thing.  I can’t really comment on service since it was a buffet situation.  You can enjoy this all-you-can-eat lunch buffet for less than ten bucks.  I give Dakshin 4 out of 5.

Dakshin
4742 Bardstown Road
Louisville,  KY  40218
502.491.7412

Dakshin Indian Restaurant on Urbanspoon

 

This entry was posted in review. Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to DakShin – a Buffet of Flavor

  1. Eddie says:

    Susan was not being dramatic about the scary outside! The strip mall is pretty rough. And, the interior appears to be an old steak place with a few Indian touches added. The buffet is excellent, though, and is regularly changed with only a few items that are repeated often. I certainly recommend it, and will be back there next week!

Leave a comment